Many individuals are diagnosed with something known as Celiac disease, a genetic-based auto-immune condition that affects the lining of the small intestine, making absorption of food difficult. Due to this condition, they avoid gluten, a protein found in wheat and most wheat based products. Till a few years ago, these individuals could not enjoy pizza, bread, cookies and other bakery products since all of them have gluten in the flour. Now-a-days, many manufacturers have product lines catering exclusively to those allergic to gluten; it is common to find flour and bakery products that are labelled gluten-free.
Not all grains have gluten in them; many of the common varieties such as rice, corn, millets, sorghum, wild rice, buckwheat (kuttu), quinoa and amarnath are naturally gluten free.
While Mirchi.com strongly urges its sellers to clearly indicate if a product is Gluten Free in the product detail page, it does not guarantee that the information is correct. We recommend that you contact a seller/fulfiller to confirm by clicking on the envelope icon on the top right hand corner of the site, next to the name of the seller/fulfiller.
Gluten Free products are indicated by this icon in the Dietary Information section of a product: